Different types of Medical disposable gowns and how to choose them:

Standing in the era of coronavirus the use of personal protective equipment has increased considerably in the field of medicine. The purpose of these gowns is to protect the wearer from several pathogens, microorganisms, and other fluids that can pose a threat to the human body.

There are several types of ready-to-wear medical disposable gowns designed for various medical purposes. These gowns are assigned to the wearer while keeping in mind the different types of risk factors that one might encounter. For example:

  •       Level 1: Minimum risk and can be used in the basic care unit.
  •       Level 2: Low risk and can be used in pathology labs etc.
  •       Level 3: Moderate risk and can be used in emergency rooms.
  •       Level 4: High risk and used in cases of suspected non-airborne pathogens.

There are different types of gowns according to the risk factor involved. The gowns also have certain critical zones of protection according to nationalized standards.

Surgical gowns:

These gowns are used for surgical purposes to protect the wearer and the patient from harmful microorganisms. This gown should cover the risk factor level of at least 1. The back of the surgical gowns may or may not be protective or open.

Critical zones:

Front portions of the gown from shoulder to the knees and the arms, from wrist to elbow.


Isolation gowns:

These types of surgical gowns are used in times of high-contamination-risk surgical procedures. These gowns must cover level 4 risk factors and are made to cover as much of the body part as appropriate. They also must have protective backs.

Critical zones:

Almost all of the gown except for the hems and cuffs.


Protective gowns:

While both surgical and isolation gowns are different types of protective gowns, there’s also an open-back over-the-head gown that is made for levels 2-4, according to its use.


Apart from these, there’s also a non-surgical isolation gown that is worn during minimum to low-risk levels. These types of gowns are not worn in surgical operations but have the critical zone of full body coverage.


The appropriate type of gown is to be selected while taking into account the risk factor levels, and the intended use. Some other factors include fit, breathability, and sterility as the gowns are available both in woven and non-woven fabric. Woven materials are reusable while non-woven is disposable. Disposable cloths for medical & hospital manufacturers have also enabled the expiration date of the products to make them safer.



According to some reports, reusable gowns are preferable because of their long-lasting capacity. But due to the fear of contaminated diseases in recent times, sterile disposable non-woven fabrics are also taken into account.


Medical nonwoven disposable manufacturers have done a great job in availing all types of gowns in all 4 levels. They just have to pass through some necessary level testing before bringing it to the market.